If your home is in Providence, Newport or anywhere in between, SafeAuto wants to help you find the cheapest auto insurance in your area. While SafeAuto does not currently offer direct coverage in Rhode Island, we can still help you get a cheap quote on the insurance coverage you need.
Check out these instant matches for your area!
Rhode Island's Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:
The first number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit.
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for damage to or destruction of property of others in an accident.
Under Rhode Island law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including driver’s license and vehicle registration suspension and fines from $100 to $1,000 or more of $500 or more.
In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.