Looking for Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado?
SafeAuto offers affordable Colorado auto insurance throughout the entire Centennial state! If you are looking for more information across the state of Colorado, more material can be found below
Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under Colorado law, you are required to provide documentary proof of financial responsibility prior to operating a motor vehicle. If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, ranging from first offense penalties of a $50 to $500 and five (5) days up to six (6) months in county jail.
Insurance companies are required to notify the Colorado Department of Revenue of each policy issued and provide updates every six (6) months.
In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
Related Colorado Insurance Requirement Information:
Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles
SafeAuto loves to save you money on your car insurance. That’s why SafeAuto is the Insurance for the Rest of Us. We’d be happy to have you be a part of the SafeAuto family while you’re enjoying the road ahead!
If you have any further car insurance questions, please visit our FAQ page
or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department